How to make a boil animation?

Hi there,

This post is about a trial to find an animation style for the film.
Our film needs a series of illustrations and animations and I was struggling to find an inspiration for the animation style.
I have seen many line-drawing animations on Instagram, and I have been fascinated with them so much. Because they are simple but dynamic and have its own character.  After I showed some inspirational images to Tassia, Tassia told me the style of animation is called Boil animation. Then, Tassia showed me Rhubarb and Custard.

 

In Rhubarb and Custard, the outline of the objects and characters changes in each frame. It means that an animator drew probably 25frames to make a second of animation, which is very time-consuming for me since I had to make a series of different animations by myself.  In order to find a way to overcome the limits, I came across a blog post of handmade typography animation which used 6 frames per second. In the post, the animators said

We found this to be the most pleasing frame rate to produce the “wiggle” effect,

Therefore, I decided to apply 6 frame rates to my boil animation about Tinder.

I need to make a tinder animation for each character where they see each other’s tinder profile to decide swipe right/left or reply/don’t reply.

 

So, this is the first trial of 6fps boil animation

tinderprofile

But, as you can see it is so quick that I found it distracting.
Especially, the images in the phone layout will change as the story develops.
Therefore, I decided to stick to 25fps digital animation style.

This is the final version of the animation I made. 

 

Leave a comment